David to Solomon, and a reminder of St. Patrick

I was reading this morning in 2 Samuel and 1 Kings, and I was particularly struck by how David concludes his life.  This week, I’ve realized that life is unpredictable and fragile (well, I knew that, but even more so this week), and this makes me think about how important influence and relationship is:

1 Kings 2:1-4 (NIV)

“When the time drew near for David to die, he gave a charge to Solomon his son. ‘I am about to go the way of all the earth,’ he said. ‘So be strong, show yourself a man, and observe what the LORD your God requires: Walk in his ways, and keep his decrees and commands, his laws and requirements, as written in the Law of Moses, so that you may prosper in all you do and wherever you go, and that the LORD may keep his promise to me: ‘If your descendants watch how they live, and if they walk faithfully before me with all their heart and soul, you will never fail to have a man on the throne of Israel.'”

I also received an update from TeachOverseas.org (an organization I’d once considered for going overseas), with the following:

“May we hope to do the same as we celebrate the life of this model missionary, who wrote:

‘I arise today

Through God’s strength to pilot me:
God’s might to uphold me,
God’s wisdom to guide me
God’s eye to look before me,
God’s ear to hear me,
God’s word to speak for me,
God’s hand to guard me,
God’s way to lie before me.'”

Back to work and a phone call to make; hope your day is blessed.

Leave a Reply

