Some encouraging things to share

I was reading The Search for Significance by Robert McGee, a book I thumb through occasionally, and McGee quoted from the Westminster’s Shorter Catchechism.  He used Question 1, but I like Question2 as well.  Here’s what it says:

Q. 1. What is the chief end of man?
A. Man’s chief end is to glorify God,[1] and to enjoy him forever.[2]

Q. 2. What rule hath God given to direct us how we may glorify and enjoy him?
A. The Word of God, which is contained in the Scriptures of the Old and New Testaments,[3] is the only rule to direct us how we may glorify and enjoy him.[4]

original

*Disclaimer: My posting of a resource from the Reformed Church is not an endorsement or alignment with the Reformed Church.  I say this before I have a Calvinist / Arminian bloodbath on my hands.  I agree with Piper in having no desire to be doctrinally novel.  I don’t agree with beating people with a club masquerading as the love of Christ to prove that I’m “smarter” than they are. *

Anyway, so how do we glorify God and enjoy Him?  We rest in His truths, mercies, and grace and we will also be obedient to His commands.

Another thing to share comes from “The Lessons I Learned from My Family Tree” (@ The Simple Dollar). While I don’t think that we are to seek fame for our own name, we are to be a living testimony to God and His precepts.  When we’re remembered, will we be seen as children of God, content in all circumstances?  I have a long way to go there…

One last thing from Arab Vision – “Old Imam Turns to Christ”.  God is on the move in BIG ways in the Middle East!  Don’t let the media or your own doubt fool you!  God will be praised by all tongues and tribes!

Even though I feel like I’m extremely over-committed right now, I thank God for the opportunities to reach out in significant, realistic ways.  I’m thankful for those who pray for me continually, as my weary mind and body need the refreshing.

May you be blessed today as you press on into your day.  

CDL

Leave a Reply

