A few thoughts in this Thanksgiving week

As I skip around online, I start seeing more advertisements for Christmas and the impending material deluge coming.  I’m begging out of it this year.  I would be glad to figure out other ways to love my friends, family, and other acquaintances.

I’m proposing a simple thing:  If you wish to give some sort of gift to me this year, please don’t.  

This economy is tough and will get tougher.  Things are uncertain and are certain to become more so.  I encourage you to save your hard-earned dollars – I recommend ING Direct.

If you must give (’tis the season), I would encourage one of the following:

Kiva – A website that supports entrepreneurs worldwide with microcredit.  $25 helps in a great way!

World Vision – The website for World Vision.  A website supporting impoverished families with basic needs and encourages Christian development.  They also do relief effort.

Living Water – The Website for Living Water International. Your money can help others have access to clean drinking water.

Feed Just One – The Website for Feed Just One. Help feed hungry children by buying a shirt or just giving.

I just returned from the National Missionary Convention in Tulsa this weekend and have thought a lot on what we can do as Christians to benefit the poor in our world.  We were given so much, they need so little. Mark Moore (a professor at Ozark Christian College in Joplin, MO) paraphrased – If you’re not preaching good news to the poor, then you’re not following Christ’s call.

I plan to send out Christmas cards via e-mail this year.  If I don’t have your e-mail, please send it to me so that I can update you with my information and life.

God bless you all, and please keep pressing on – the week is nearly over! 🙂

Leave a Reply

