Is it really almost Monday?

11:45 PM Sunday evening.  15 minutes from Monday.

I’m preparing to go to sleep, but a few things before I crash out:

Just a little addicted to “My Last Amen” by Downhere and “Can You Feel It?” by the David Crowder Band.  I’ve already extolled the virtues of the former.  I think the latter is attractive because of the uptempo, almost club beat.

I can comprehend that You are there/You are there/You’re everywhere.

I managed to purchase three different books and finish them successively this well this week.  The three (and I heartily recommend them) are: Saving Your Marriage Before It Starts by Drs. Les and Leslie Parrott, Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire by Jim Cymbala, and I’m Proud of You by Tim Madigan.  The last one is a memoir of Madigan’s friendship with Mr. Fred Rogers, he of “Mister Rogers’s Neighborhood” fame.  I was awed by the unflinching humility, grace, and true joy captured in the life of Fred Rogers.  He was a devotee of letter-writing.  Might I cultivate this habit as he did.  The title of the book stems from Mr. Rogers’s writing notes to Mr. Madigan that were always signed off “IPOY” (I’m Proud of You).  Madigan details some personal struggles in his life that the faith of Mr. Rogers helped him through.  We all have this touch, really!

All too often, I forget that my attention (or inattention) has effect on all of the people I know.  Being a University advisor / professor, I have contact with somewhere up to 600 or so people at any given time.  Expand that to my friends / acquaintances / family list, and the number shoots above one thousand.  What does my life say to those people?  Does it say, “Jesus is Lord and you are worthy of His grace?”  Or does it say, “You are worthless to me, and I don’t really believe that you are special?”  These are tough questions to examine, to be sure.

For now, though, I’m headed to bed!  Hope you’re doing well as you read this.

Leave a Reply

