A little bit of this, a little bit of that

Easter is on March 23, therefore, I still have 4 Sundays before I can be back on Facebook.  Actually, I’ll be able to be back in 5 Sundays, because my plan is to be in Sombrerete, Coahuila, Mexico on Sunday, March 23.  Anyway…

Some things I’ve learned in the past week:

Obedience to God sometimes hurts, but in the end, it’s worth it.

I’m very hopeful about my immediate and long-term future.

The Imitation of Christ by Thomas a Kempis is well worth the read.  Each chapter, each paragraph contains a nugget of wisdom.

Although it’s not a “Christian living” book by any means, Babbitt by Sinclair Lewis is shaping up to be a witty, satirical view of “the norm” in the early ’20s.  I’m enjoying the challenge of this universally-accepted classic.

Pray, pray, pray – it’s what you do when you don’t know what to do.

I leave you with this brief piece of wisdom from Russ Blowers (qtd. by David Faust in “Thanks, Russ – see you soon,” in the Sunday, February 24 issue of “The Lookout.” – article originally published November 15, 1998):

“Good-bye is so terminal. Jesus never once said it.  He said things like, ‘I’m leaving, but I’ll be back.’ He said, ‘Peace I leave with you,’ but he never said good-bye…good-bye means, ‘I don’t know when and where we’ll meet again.’  We tone down its finality with ‘bye-bye,’ but that only masks the reality.

In the parting scene from Casablanca, Berman says, ‘Good-bye, Rick.’ But Bogart the sentimentalist says, ‘Here’s looking at you, kid.’ All the language groups use some word that is more in line with ‘I’ll see you again.’ Hasta la vista. Arrivederci. Aloha.  Auf Wiedersehen. Au revoir.  Human nature is not into good-byes.  Good-bye can be a painful separation that may last for a long time. …[But] I rejoice that ‘good-bye’ is just an old Anglo-Saxon term meaning ‘God be with ye.’ He is, and he will be, and that is enough to soften the sweet sorrow of parting.”

So, I’ll see you again?

Leave a Reply

