John Mayer and a deep thought

My cat’s out of the bag – I listen to John Mayer. 

 Was listening to “Waiting on the World to Change” on MySpace and gleaned this nugget:

“Me and all my friends
We’re all misunderstood
They say we stand for nothing and
There’s no way we ever could
Now we see everything that’s going wrong
With the world and those who lead it
We just feel like we don’t have the means
To rise above and beat it

So we keep waiting
(waiting)
Waiting on the world to change
We keep on waiting
(waiting)
Waiting on the world to change”

Contrast these with lyrics from Starfield’s “Revolution:”

I will rise above
I will live for love
I will answer to the call
For the bond between
For the depth unseen
For my God forsake it all

‘Cause I’m a fire
I’m a flood
I’m a revolution
I am a war
Already won
I’m a revolution”

Why do we wait for the winds of change to blow when God has clearly spoken for us to make changes – live radically for love.  Take back society without being violent.  Show the world Christ’s compassion.  Care for the widows and poor.  It’s true that it seems that we can’t get the attention of those who seem to run the world.  However, they can’t ignore a revolution…let’s live as people of purpose today.

Leave a Reply

