I need more than a shadow

Today’s Verse of the Day, courtesy of Heartlight:

“A man of many companions may come to ruin, but there is a friend
who sticks closer than a brother.”  – Proverbs 18:24

And Warren Barfield’s song “Shadow”:

” I know my shady little shadow
Would’ve left me long ago
If he wasn’t tied to my feet
He’s always been a scared one
Turn off the lights and he runs
Nowhere to be seen

I am lonely only when I’m alone

I need more than a shadow
Someone that won’t go
Whenever life grows dark
You’re the only one I know
Whose love never lets go
We’ll never be apart
Never be apart

You and me, we’ve got a good thing
We move so smoothly
You lead and I will follow
You’re closer than a brother
I’m a book, You’re the cover
You surround my soul

With You only my lonely is gone

You’re so much more than a shadow
Someone that won’t go
Whenever life grows dark
You’re the only one I know
Whose love never lets go
We’ll never be apart

Never be apart
You eclipse my heart.”  (available at http://www.jesusfreakhideout.com/lyrics/new/track.asp?track_id=4237)
As Warren Barfield says in his in-studio version of this song (available on MySpace and YouTube), I’ve needed that kind of friend, and He is Jesus.

Whatever you do, wherever you are, you can take comfort in the fact that the living God wants to be close to you, wants to be closer than a brother, that He wants you to share your innermost being – not because He doesn’t already know, but because sharing your walk through this life truly magnifies Him.

Leave a Reply

